Nippon Steel Trading, the trading arm of Japan’s Nippon Steel group, is buying CLN Slovakia, a steel service centre that sits inside the Nippon Steel Slovakia works in Košice and cuts strip and sheet mainly for car parts makers. For EU buyers, a mill group now owns the processor that stands between the Košice mill and many Central European automotive suppliers. No step is needed before closing, but if you buy cut strip or sheet from CLN Slovakia, ask now in writing whether your supply terms, approvals and mill sources carry over unchanged.
What was announced
On 30 October Nippon Steel Trading said it will acquire all shares of CLN Slovakia s.r.o. from the Italian group CLN (C.L.N. Coils Lamiere Nastri) through its European unit, Nippon Steel Trading Austria. After closing the company will be renamed NST Service Center Slovakia. Nippon Steel Trading says Central and Eastern Europe is gaining manufacturing and needs stable steel supply and local processing, and that it wants to grow in automotive, construction and industrial machinery, home appliances and solar. CLN confirmed the sale and said closing depends on regulatory approvals. Neither company gave a price or a closing date.
Reach steel buyers and importers worldwide
Put your brand in front of the people who buy and trade steel.
Advertise with LoharoCLN Slovakia started production in 2007 and has 69 employees. CLN puts its capacity at about 220,000 t a year. Its plant page lists strip from 0.5 to 5.0 mm and sheet from 0.5 to 15.0 mm, IATF 16949 automotive quality certification, and customers such as Kirchhoff Automotive, Magna and the Košice mill itself. The mill became Nippon Steel Slovakia on 1 October, and Nippon Steel plans a €0.9 billion electric arc furnace of about 1.6 Mt a year there from 2030, with up to €350 million from the EU Modernisation Fund.
Loharo comparison: what each side says
| Nippon Steel Trading, 30 October | CLN Group | |
|---|---|---|
| Buyer | Nippon Steel Trading, through Nippon Steel Trading Austria GmbH | Nippon Steel Trading Corporation |
| Stake | All shares | 100% of the quota capital |
| What the plant does | Slitting and levelling, mainly for automotive, since 2007 | Narrow strip and sheet, mainly for automotive OEMs and Tier 1 suppliers |
| Size | 69 employees; capital €10 million | About 220,000 t a year of processing capacity |
| Link to the mill | Located inside Nippon Steel Slovakia (NSSK) in Košice | Inside the mill compound; NSSK is a key supplier and also a customer |
| New name | NST Service Center Slovakia s.r.o. after closing | Not stated |
| Closing | Not dated | Subject to regulatory approvals; price not disclosed |
Analysis The two statements match on the facts that overlap. They differ in emphasis: CLN stresses the plant’s automotive customers, while Nippon Steel Trading stresses closer ties with the mill. That points to a service centre that works more closely with Nippon Steel Slovakia’s strip. Neither company has said that customers will be steered towards Košice coil, and we do not assume it.
What it means for EU buyers
Analysis Supply from a service centre next to the mill should continue through the change of owner. Most risk sits in the paperwork. In automotive supply chains a change of owner or of the source mill can trigger a change notification to the customer. Buyers should check four points with the supplier: whether their contract has a change-of-control or assignment clause; whether the supplier will notify customers before any change of source mill for approved parts; whether current price and volume terms run to their end date; and, if you buy coil from other mills that is processed there, whether that service continues.
What to watch
- Before closing: regulatory approval and the closing date.
- After closing: any change in which mills’ coil the renamed centre processes.
- 2029–2030: the Košice arc furnace start-up and what it means for low-CO₂ strip supply in the region.
Verification status: Verified
- The deal, the buyer, the new name and the plant details come from Nippon Steel Trading’s 30 October release (English and Japanese) and CLN Group’s own announcement and plant page, which agree. Context on the Košice mill comes from Nippon Steel’s 16 September release. The comparison and buyer checks are Loharo analysis; no price or closing date has been published.
- Key: Verified = material factual claims are supported by an appropriate primary source or clearly attributed reporting/market assessments; Partially verified = a specific material claim remains unsupported, contradicted or materially overstated; Analysis = interpretation or forecast with sourced premises; Developing = material facts are checked but the situation is still changing.
Ask the Analyst
“500 t HRC from Turkey into Antwerp in January”: landed cost with duty, quota and CBAM in one answer.Ask the AnalystSources
Primary sources
- Acquisition of all shares of CLN Slovakia s.r.o., a steel service center in Slovakia — Nippon Steel Trading, 30 October 2026
- スロバキアの鋼材サービスセンター、CLN Slovakia s.r.o.社の全株式取得について (in Japanese) — Nippon Steel Trading, 30 October 2026
- Sale of CLN Slovakia s.r.o. to Nippon Steel Trading Corporation — CLN Group
- Košice, Slovakia plant page — CLN Group
- Nippon Steel’s Slovak operating base U. S. Steel Košice decides €0.9 billion investment for sustainable growth and decarbonization — Nippon Steel, 16 September 2026
Last fact-check: 3 November 2026.




